1st Barefoot race Jingle Jog 5k, Atlanta GA

Had my first barefoot race today. The 5k Jingle Jog in the perimeter area of Atlanta. All in all it was a bit of a mare. Both Sophie and Ian were also running in the 1k version of the race. Noah my nephew was going to help out and run with them. In all the muddle getting to different starts etc I ended up have no warm up time and it was freezing.

The race was starting as i approached the line. So i took off in the Merrell’s with very cold legs and feet. Far from ideal and to top it off i’m starting from the back of the pack and the GPS would not start up.

So here is 2 miles of my 3 miles:

http://runkeeper.com/user/simonjcole/activity/62495631

My overall race time was 28:15, so my pace i think was pretty good. I started toward the back and so it took me a couple of mins to reach the start line as everyone shuffled off, The section missing from the runkeeper above was also down hill. So i would hazard a guess that my overall time was probably in the 8:40 mi/min range.

Finishing up though the i might have hurt my left foot. Running off when it was cold and not warmed up, it does not feel good at the moment. Lets see how its doing tomorrow morning for my run then.

About simonjcole

I am Founder and CEO of Thames Agencyworks. And a Subaru Ambassador. My daughter Sophie is also a Subaru Ambassador and avid Rock Climber. I am also a runner doing many obstacle races each year. Specifically the Spartan Races. View all posts by simonjcole

2 responses to “1st Barefoot race Jingle Jog 5k, Atlanta GA

Leave a comment