A split weekend on the feet. Barefoot and Shod.

After running my fastest ever 4.5 miles on thursday i put in another good 4.5 run on saturday. Form felt great and i was only 6 seconds a mile slower in pace than Thursdays effort. The only thing was i was left with a dull pain in my left foot. right in the center of my mid foot landing area. Im hoping that this is a case of tenderness after cranking out 9 miles in two days.

http://runkeeper.com/user/simonjcole/activity/61885503

With my left foot still a little sore on sunday i did not want to make it worse, so i pulled out the old traditional running shoes and decided to try to clock up a bit more mileage. Overall my run went well. I have found that i can switch between running styles quite easily now. I recall reading in a Barefoot test on minimal shoes that half the people in the test switched to a mid foot strike within the two weeks, while the other half stayed with the heel striking form. It seems luckily that i would be in the first group as i can, and do switch automatically depending on what shoes i am wearing.

For my run today in my traditional running shoes, i fell straight back into my old form. Heel planted into the ground. well in front of my body, and a slower stride rate even though i was running about the same speed. I can still run like this as i clocked in 7 miles, But i don’t like it any more. All the pains i used to feel running come back. Specifically in my knees as i’m far more aware of my body feedback now, and i know how painless running can be.

http://runkeeper.com/user/simonjcole/activity/61994230

This run was 2 miles further in distance yet a full 50 seconds a mile slower in pace. I might run  a 5k next week end, The Jingle Jog (http://www.jinglejog.com/) so lets hope the foots tenderness is all cleared up by then.

About simonjcole

I am Founder and CEO of Thames Agencyworks. And a Subaru Ambassador. My daughter Sophie is also a Subaru Ambassador and avid Rock Climber. I am also a runner doing many obstacle races each year. Specifically the Spartan Races. View all posts by simonjcole

Leave a comment